The DEP shocked the Farmington this week. Has anyone received any results. It would be nice to know if C&R is really working.

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:18 am

What do they do to shock the River? What are they trying to get rid of? Just curious- I'm relatively new to fishing (past year or so).

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:28 pm

I'm not completely versed in the methods used for shocking. But they add an small electric current to stun the fish. Purportedly it does not hurt them. This allow a counting and measurement to check on survival rates and for other research.

Posted Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:08 pm

steamstomper

I'm not completely versed in the methods used for shocking. But they add an small electric current to stun the fish. Purportedly it does not hurt them. This allow a counting and measurement to check on survival rates and for other research.

Really. They stun the fish. I had no idea they do things like that. I guess as long as it doesn't hurt the fish & it's in the name of conservation IT'S ALL GOOD.

Posted Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:16 pm

It's only no good if they forget to warn you to get out of the water before the shock is applied! Shocked Shocked

Posted Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:59 pm

I guess that would suck.

Posted Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:31 pm

It would be a shocking experience!! Shocked Shocked

Posted Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:52 pm

Check out FRAA.ORG for pictures of this year's shocking.

Posted Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:58 pm

cool pics. Is this one a brown trout? (I havn't fished for trout much)

Posted Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:38 pm

yeah that looks like a nice brown trout...older male brown trouts develop a curved lower jaw, so im guessing that might be a female, not positive though.

Posted Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:09 am