Thinking of trying it out. I have a fresh water set up that is a beginners and is probably 20 years old. I know I can't use that set up, so I'm looking for info a a decent set up. I don't want anything too expensive or to cheep. I have been fly fishing off and on for 20 years, but am still a beginner. Also what flies would one use? I would love to hook up a striper, but would settle for anything with gills! Very Happy

Posted Sun Apr 12, 2009 1:06 pm

Some with the powers that be, may want to move this. I just noticed that there is a salt water fly fishing section.

Posted Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:38 pm

no one fly fishes in salt????

Posted Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:54 pm

i have been playing around with flyfishing in the salt for 4 years now,every year i have been doing alittle more.i have been useing my "starter setup".i too didnt want to spend alot to see if i would like it.
my starter set up is a scientific angler 9wt,9 ft floating line.i bought at walmart as a kit.then i paid $40.00.it is a freshwater setup,but as long as you hose it down after you use it and grease the reel it will last.i also use salt away,which i get through bass pro.i wouldnt get anything smaller than a 9wt rod.also the longer the rod the better.
i have added a few things,since i have been getting more into it,like a knotable steel leader,and i bought a 300 gr.fast sink line,for the winter schoolies in norwich.

as far as flies go,clouser minnow works very well,poppers also work .in august just about anything works as long as it imitates bait and has weight.i january j&b tackle,ll bean,kittery ect have sales in saltwater fly kits,where you get 6 or so different flies.