I just arrived home. It was quite a fright.

A few days ago, I purchased a Everstart deep cycle battery with 120 amps for an electric trolling motor.

I connected the Intex motor to the battery which has an auto read on the battery power. It revealed the Everstart battery, was low.
I then purchased a "speed charger" from Walmart which was specifically for 12 volt deep cycle batteries.

When I saw the battery was at bottom, I began to charge with this "speed charger from Walmart. It displayed green, meaning the batter was at full power...and was in trickle charge mode....

I waited a day...and it did not move in terms of charging....then I began to research....this charger was a trickle charger...and as I studied the manual it stated it would keep deep cycle batteries up to par, but if you attempted to charge them, it could damage the battery. I immediately pulled the plug and went to Walmart for the appropriate charger.....This was a completely different charger, with fast options to charge at 15 Amps, then 10 and 5 I believe.

After only a couple hours, with whistling and cool sounds, the battery charger displayed 100 percent. Now I was confident. And with this confidence and perfect weather for today, I decided to take advantage of the time.

Packed all gear and headed to the Old Saybrook launch near the train overpass. Prior to that I stopped at Teds bait and tackle. Very good service....and told me best place to launch....Very few people and boats left me feeling much more relaxed..and the launch is clean and large.

So I'm feeling good. I launched the boat, but the meter on the motor in the bright sunlight was difficult to read. Based on the night be fore's readings, I should have had full of battery power..